Africa Leadership

SETAC Africa Council

SETAC Africa council is consisting of at least seven and maximum thirteen members elected by the SETAC Africa membership at the Biennial General Assembly, usually in September/October during the SETAC Africa Biennial Meeting. Only full SETAC members are eligible to hold office as a member of the council. Members of the council shall be elected for a period of two (2) years, which may be renewed for only one consecutive term.

The council elects the incoming president (vice president) from amongst their voting members, who will serve for two years in this role and then become becomes president for another two years, whereafter he/she serves for two years as immediate-past president. The secretary and treasurer are elected for a term of 3 years, with the possibility of renewal once.

The SETAC Africa Council is supported by the SETAC Brussels office to manage the affairs of the Geographic Unit.

SETAC Africa Council

Gabriel Dedeke, Federal Univerity of Agriculture, Abeokuta, Nigeria

Vice President
Tarryn Botha, University of South Africa, South Africa

Immediate Past-President
Enock Dankyi, University of Ghana, Ghana 

Faith Kandie, Moi University, Kenya

Council Members

  • Chioma Blaise Chikere, University of Port Harcourt, Nigeria
  • Andrew Kataba, University of Zambia, Zambia
  • Lawrencia Osae-Nyarko, Council for Scientific and Industrial Research (CSIR), Ghana 
  • Conrad Sparks, Cape Peninsula University of Technology, South Africa
  • Eunice Ubomba-Jaswa, Water Research Commission, South Africa

Student Representative (nominated by the SETAC Africa Student Advisory Council)
Ogemndi Annika Chinwendu, De Montfort University, Leicester, UK