Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In
Site Search
Europe Governance
Share |
SETAC Europe articles of association
SETAC Europe bylaws


SETAC Europe is governed by a council consisting of at least nine (9) members and a maximum of twenty-five (25) members. Council should normally have equal representation from government, business and academia. Only full members and emeritus members are eligible to hold office as a member of the council. Members of the council shall be elected by the General Assembly for a period of three (3) years, which may be renewed for only one consecutive term. Read more...

Executive Committee

The Executive Committee is composed of the President, Vice-President, Immediate Past President, Treasurer and Executive Director. The Executive Committee has the authority to take decisions concerning urgent matters not involving the Association's policy that cannot wait to be handled by the entire council and/or decisions implementing resolutions adopted by the entire council. Read more...

Executive Director

The Executive Director has the duty to manage the daily affairs and business of the Association as well as to represent the Association as needed in order to implement such daily management powers.

General Assembly

The General Assembly has the broadest powers enabling the Association to achieve its purpose. The General Assembly meets once a year during the SETAC Europe Annual Meeting. At this meeting, the SETAC Europe budget and accounts are approved and new council members are elected. The General Assembly is composed of all voting members. Read more...

SETAC Europe Council:

José-Julio Ortega-Calvo,IRNAS-CSIC Institute of Natural Resources and Agrobiology, Spain

Vice President
Anne Alix, Dow AgroSciences, UK

Immediate Past-President
Gertie Arts, Alterra, Wageningen University and Research Centre, The Netherlands

Mirco Bundschuh, Swedish University of Agricultural Sciences, Sweden


  • Charmaine Ajao, European Chemicals Agency (ECHA), Finland
  • Carlos Barata, CSIC, Spanish National Research Council, Spain
  • Amy Brooks, Cambridge Environmental Assessments (CEA), UK
  • Karel De Schamphelaere, Ghent University, Belgium
  • Patrick Kabouw, BASF, Germany
  • Kari Lehtonen, Finnish Environment Institute, Finland
  • Annegaaike Leopold, Wageningen University, The Netherlands
  • Enrique Navarro Rodriguez, CSIC, Spanish National Research Council, Spain
  • Cristina Nasci, THETIS spa, Italy
  • Jörg Römbke, ECT Oekotoxikologie GmbH, Germany
  • Serenella Sala, Joint Research Centre - European Commission, Italy
  • Kristin Schirmer, Eawag, Switzerland
  • Kees Van Gestel, Vrije Universiteit, The Netherlands
  • Kirit Wadhia, Fjords Processing, UK

Student Representative
Tomica Misljenovic, Petnica Science Center, Serbia

SETAC Europe Executive Director
Bart Bosveld, ex officio

SETAC Europe Executive Committee:

  • José-Julio Ortega-Calvo,IRNAS-CSIC Institute of Natural Resources and Agrobiology, Spain
  • Anne Alix, Dow AgroSciences, UK
  • Gertie Arts, Alterra, Wageningen University and Research Centre, The Netherlands
  • Mirco Bundschuh, Swedish University of Agricultural Sciences, Sweden
  • Bart Bosveld, SETAC, Belgium (executive director)
General Assembly

The general assembly is composed of all voting members. In accordance with the Articles of Association, each member of SETAC Europe can choose to be actively involved in the decision-making or not, by becoming either:

  • a voting SETAC member residing in Europe
  • a non-voting SETAC member residing in Europe

As a voting member, you will need to attend, either in person or by proxy, regular meetings convened for the voting members during the year. In all other respects, voting and non-voting members shall have the same privileges and duties.

Members may changes their status as voting or non-voting member from one year to the next.

The internal rules of SETAC Europe mention the following about voting members:

  • The General Assembly shall be composed of all voting members
  • Full Members, Associate Members and Emeritus Members residing in Europe may become voting members
  • Each Full Member, Associate Member and Emeritus Member residing in Europe shall be invited to register as a voting member in February of each year
  • Voting members have the responsibility to participate in the General Assembly either in person or by proxy. Each voting member may hold five (5) proxy votes.
  • All members can attend the General Assembly but only registered voting members can vote, each voting member having one vote.

The option for voting or non-voting members is a result of the legal registration of SETAC Europe vzw in Brussels and the legal requirements to the General Assembly. "The General Assembly may only validly deliberate if one-third (1/3) of the voting members are present or represented. Notwithstanding the preceding sentence, if the number of voting members is larger than hundred (100), the quorum shall be thirty-three (33) plus one (1) additional voting member for every ten (10) voting members (or fraction thereof) in excess of one hundred (100)". (Article 8.1 of the Constitution)

You may choose your status as a voting or non-voting member depending your wish to participate actively in the decision-making in SETAC Europe. Each year in February, you will have the option to change your voting status. To make your decision the agenda for the Annual General Assembly (AGA) to be held in April-May (concurrent with the SETAC Europe Annual Meeting) will be distributed together with the request to consider your voting status.


SETAC Europe home
Sign In

Forgot your password?

Haven't joined yet?

Upcoming Events

9/7/2017 » 9/10/2017
SETAC Latin America 12th Biennial Meeting

10/17/2017 » 10/19/2017
SETAC Africa 8th Biennial Conference


© 2016 Society of Environmental Toxicology and Chemistry