This website uses cookies to store information on your computer. Some of these cookies are used for visitor analysis, others are essential to making our site function properly and improve the user experience. By using this site, you consent to the placement of these cookies. Click Accept to consent and dismiss this message or Deny to leave this website. Read our Privacy Statement for more.
Home | Print Page | Contact Us | Sign In
Fellows Award
Share |

The SETAC Fellows Award was created in 2010 to recognize members demonstrating BOTH (i) significant long-term scientific or science policy contributions and (ii) service and leadership within SETAC. The identification and appointment of Fellow status is intended to provide additional recognition of excellence and contributions of SETAC members to ecotoxicology, environmental chemistry, risk assessment and life cycle assessment. The hallmark of a SETAC Fellow is leadership within the professional and scientific arenas as well as SETAC.

While there is no upper limit to the number of Fellows, no more than 1–2% of the membership hold this prestigious recognition.

The group of SETAC Fellows constitutes a body that has demonstrated achievement in science or science policy AND possesses institutional knowledge of the society. As such, they will serve as a sounding board for the SETAC World Council and may be asked to help lead select efforts.


Candidates must be SETAC members in good standing for at least five years prior to the year in which they are considered for eligibility. In the case of new affiliates or chapters that have become part of SETAC, eligibility includes membership in these affiliates or chapters.

Who May Nominate a Fellow?

Nominations submitted in support of candidates for Fellow are welcomed; however, the nominator must not be the candidate or from the home institution of the candidate or the past academic advisor of the candidate.  To avoid duplication of effort, please contact the chairperson of the SETAC Fellow Selection Committee prior to preparing a nomination package.

Application Instructions

Nominations must be submitted electronically to Rebecca Bundschuh. The closing date is 1 March 2019.

Nomination packages must include the following items:

  1. A nomination letter outlining the eligibility of the nominee. The letter should contain the following supporting information:
    • A listing of committee memberships and leadership roles at the regional or geographic unit (GU) level of SETAC
    • Details of workshop participation in science and science policy (SETAC and others)
    • An overview of presentations at SETAC regional or GU meetings (an average of one presentation as author or co-author per year for the last five years would normally be expected)
    • A list of 5 or more of the nominee’s most important publications in peer-reviewed journals, publicly available government policy documents, or reports of international organizations on which the candidate was primary author or a major contributor.
    • A description in short paragraphs of 5 or more major lifetime contributions of the nominee to science and/or policy issues relevant to SETAC.
  2. A curriculum vitae for the nominee
  3. TWO additional support letters, only one of which should be from the home institution of the nominee. The letters should provide an explanation of why the candidate should be considered for the SETAC Fellows Award.
  4. One high-resolution photo of the nominee (minimum of 600 x 600 pixels)

The individual making the nomination is encouraged to communicate with the nominee in compiling the aforementioned supporting information.  This is particularly important in describing the nominee’s 5 major lifetime contributions to science and/or policy issues relevant to SETAC which may not be evident from reading the nominee’s curriculum vitae.

Nominators should ensure that all documentation is submitted together and the name and initials (i.e. Doe-J-Nomination-SETAC-Fellow) of the nominee should be included in the filename. 

Selection Process

Members of the Selection Committee use a standardized scoring process to independently evaluate nominations. The Selection Committee will then vote on the outcome to determine the recipients. The successful nominations will be forwarded to the SWC for final review. Fellows will receive a certificate and pin by mail and will be acknowledged at the annual meeting of their respective GU.

SETAC Fellows


George Cobb
David Fischer
Karsten Liber
Jörg Römbke


Mónica Amorim
Sabine Apitz
Alistair Boxall
Bryan Brooks
Richard Di Giulio
Elaine Dorward-King
Robert Hoke
Henner Hollert
Ruth Hull
Karen Kidd
Joseph Meyer
Ellen Mihaich
Miguel Mora
Mary Reiley
Mark Servos
Donald Tillitt
Eddy Zeng


Scott Belanger
Timothy Canfield
Ronald Kendall
Kenneth Leung
Barnett Rattner
Daniel Schlenk
Wen-Xiong Wang









Harold Bergman
Theo C.M. Brock
Allen Burton
Miriam Diamond
Jeffrey Giddings
Christopher W. Hickey
Larry Kapustka
Steve Klaine
Wayne Landis
Lorraine Maltby
Paolo Masoni
Peter Matthiessen
Mike McLaughlin
Jennifer Lee Stauber
Jane Staveley
William Stubblefield
Paul van den Brink
Joke Van Wensem


Graeme Batley
Peter Campbell
Phil Dorn
John Elliott
William Goodfellow
Patrick Guiney
Jim Oris
Ralph Stahl
Charles Tyler
Barbara Walton


Gerald T. Ankley
John Cairns, Jr.
Dominic Di Toro
John Giesy
Donald Mackay
Donald I. Mount
Derek Muir
John B. Sprague
Glenn Suter
Deborah Swackhamer
C. Herb Ward


William J. Adams
Peter Chapman
Steven Eisenreich
Anne Fairbrother
Ronald Hites
Peter Landrum
Samuel Luoma
Michael McLachlan
Keith Solomon
John Sumpter
Shinsuke Tanabe