This website uses cookies to store information on your computer. Some of these cookies are used for visitor analysis, others are essential to making our site function properly and improve the user experience. By using this site, you consent to the placement of these cookies. Click Accept to consent and dismiss this message or Deny to leave this website. Read our Privacy Statement for more.
Home | Print Page | Contact Us | Sign In
Stephen J. Klaine Environmental Education Award
Share |

About the Award

The Stephen J. Klaine Environmental Education Award (formerly the SETAC/Menzie Environmental Education Award) recognizes an individual, group or organization for significant contributions to environmental education. The award is named in honor of Steve Klaine, who touched the lives of so many with his dedication to environmental science, teaching and mentoring of students during his 30-year career. As professor and director of Clemson University’s Institute of Environmental Toxicology, he was advisor to more than 40 doctoral and 45 master’s students. He was also committed to international student outreach, teaching in Cuba, Jamaica, Canada, Portugal, Vietnam, Africa and Australia. His efforts at capacity building in Vietnam resulted in the first collaborative master’s program in environmental toxicology between Hanoi University of Science and Clemson University. Klaine had a long-term dedication to SETAC and, through his teaching and mentoring of students, an immense impact on environmental science globally. Therefore the award, formerly known as the SETAC/Menzie Environmental Education Award, was renamed in 2016 to pay tribute to his efforts.

Call for Applications

If you or anyone you know has made significant contributions to environmental education either through educating other educators or by working with community groups and K-12 programs, please consider submitting an award application. The award alternates between honoring an individual educator of educators and individuals or groups and organizations engaged in educating the public.  The 2018 award will target on groups and organizations engaged in educating the public. The recipient of this award will receive $1,000 donated by SETAC members.

Contributions should be related to one of the following areas:

  • Improving environmental science curricula and technical education at any level of the educational system
  • Developing programs that enhance environmental literacy and awareness in youth and the general public
  • Supporting innovative educational programs that encourage and stimulate the professional development of environmental scientists.


Endowment for Education

Steve Klaine was passionate about promoting and supporting graduate students. To continue his legacy, SETAC North America is raising funds to establish a self-sustaining endowment to support environmental education and aiding graduate students. Make a one-time gift, or consider an annual donation. Thank you!


Past Award Winners

Past winners of the SETAC/Menzie Environmental Education Award

  • Orange County Water District, 2018
  • Ronald J Kendall, 2017
  • Nature Vision, 2016
  • Kenneth Sajwan, 2015
  • Craig Wilson, 2014
  • Stephen J. Klaine, 2013
  • Lewiston-Porter High School, 2012
  • University of Buffalo, 2012
  • Jianying Hu, 2011
  • Kiawah Island Golf Resort Nature Program, 2010
  • Marcus Eriksen and Algalita Marine Research Foundation, 2008
  • Shinsuke Tanabe, 2007
  • Environmental Institute of Houston, 2005
  • Barbara Speziale, 2004
  • Don Waite & Alfreda Gibson, 2003
  • John Giesy, 2002

Past Winners Through the Support of ABC Laboratories

  • Gary Booth, 2001
  • Alan McIntosh & Sharon H. Walker, 2000
  • Kenneth Dickson, 1999
  • Celeste Prussia, 1998
  • Dick Dauksys & Donna Whelan, 1997
  • Chippewa Nature Center, 1996
  • Green Bay Metropolitan Sewerage District, 1995
  • Arthur L. Buikema, 1994
  • Keith Solomon, 1993
  • Eugene P. Odum, 1992
  • Charles C. Warren, 1991

Nomination Process

The candidate does not have to be a SETAC member and may be nominated by a nonmember or member of the society. The candidate must present documentation of contributions made to support the specified criteria of the award.

Application Instructions:

The application package must contain all of the material requested to be considered for the award.

  • Letter of nomination
  • Three (3) letters of recommendation that provide support for contributions outlined in the areas specified
  • Individual applicants - a curriculum vitae (five pages maximum); Organization/program applicants - written overview of the organization/program/project purpose and accomplishments (five pages maximum)
  • Supporting documentation of contributions made to the specified criteria of the award
  • One high resolution photo

Selection of Awardee:

The SETAC North America Awards and Fellowships Subcommittee for Professional Awards will evaluate nominations independently by using a standardized score sheet. Announcement of the awardee will be made at the SETAC North America 39th Annual Meeting, 4-8 November 2018 Sacramento, California.

To Submit:

ALL applications must be submitted online by 1 June 2018.

Apply Here