This website uses cookies to store information on your computer. Some of these cookies are used for visitor analysis, others are essential to making our site function properly and improve the user experience. By using this site, you consent to the placement of these cookies. Click Accept to consent and dismiss this message or Deny to leave this website. Read our Privacy Statement for more.
Home | Print Page | Contact Us | Sign In
SETAC/ICA Chris Lee Award
Share |

Sponsored by The International Copper Association

The SETAC / ICA Chris Lee Award for Metals Research, sponsored by The International Copper Association and initiated by the Society to recognize the leadership and technical contributions by the late Dr. Chris Lee, provides up to $5,000 to a graduate student or recent graduate who has focused on research related to the fate and/or effects of metals in the environment. A key consideration for this award is that the recipient will continue research on metals-related environmental issues and funding will be provided by ICA toward the recipient's ongoing research.


Eligibility (per the desires of the sponsor)

  • Candidates must be a graduate student or recent graduate (less than 2 years since studies) who is expected to continue research in metals-related environmental fate and/or effects issues
  • Candidates must have published in a peer-reviewed journal on metals-related subject within two years prior to the award date (prior to 1 August of the year the award being made at each North America Annual Meeting)
  • Applicants must be SETAC members in good standing.


Application Instructions

Nomination packages can be submitted by:

  • By members of the technical committee of ICA who have reviewed the literature
  • By SETAC members who are aware of graduate students or recent graduates who have published in the prior two years and who are continuing work on metals-related issues
  • By candidates themselves who are graduate or recent graduate students who feel they meet the criteria.

An application package containing, in order, the following materials must be submitted to be considered for the Award.

  • Cover page containing the title of the Award, name and mailing address, telephone number, and email address of the applicant
  • A curriculum vitae (4 pages maximum)
  • A letter describing research and future plans
  • A copy of relevant publications described in letter
  • One high-resolution photo
  • A one-page biography
  • Candidates should support their evaluation package with letters from any or all of their major professors, graduate committee members, and research associates who are familiar with both their work performance and the nature of their research.

ALL applications must be submitted electronically to Rebecca Bundschuh. Completed application packages must be received on or before 14 June 2019


Award Requirements

Copies of any article, paper, or manuscript prepared under the Award are required from the recipient. These should be sent electronically or by mail to the SETAC Office. Publications resulting from work under the Award should bear the following statement:

"This research was made possible [in part] by the ICA Chris Lee Award for Metals Research and the Society of Environmental Toxicology and Chemistry (SETAC). Its contents are solely the responsibility of the author(s) and do not necessarily represent the official views of the ICA or SETAC."

Progress and financial reports will be due annually.


Selection of Awardee

All proposals will be evaluated by the Global Award Committee based on the quality and originality of the research and the contribution of the applicant, the significance of the findings to the metals industry and the proposal to continue the work in the field. 

Candidates who do not speak English as a native language may benefit from pre-submission review for grammar and content. (SETAC will not be responsible for pre-submission review.) Announcement of the award will be made at the SETAC North America 40th Annual Meeting, 3-7 November 2019 in Toronto, ON, Canada.


Past Award Winners

  • Raissa Mendonca, 2018
  • Maikel Rosabal Rodriguez, 2017
  • Tamzin A. Blewett, 2016
  • Anne Cremazy, 2015
  • Yamini Gopalapillai, 2014
  • Monica D. Poteat, 2013
  • Kevin Brix, 2012
  • Justin Conley, 2011
  • Nilima Gandhi, 2010
  • Wai Man Kwong, 2009
  • Tham Chung Hoang, 2008
  • Martin Tsui, 2007
  • Ian Oliver, 2006
  • Lisa D. Kraemer, 2005
  • Eric Pane, 2004
  • Karel de Schamphelaere, 2003