This website uses cookies to store information on your computer. Some of these cookies are used for visitor analysis, others are essential to making our site function properly and improve the user experience. By using this site, you consent to the placement of these cookies. Click Accept to consent and dismiss this message or Deny to leave this website. Read our Privacy Statement for more.
Home | Print Page | Contact Us | Sign In
Herb Ward Exceptional Service Award
Share |

Renamed in 1999 to honor Environmental Toxicology and Chemistry founding Editor-in-Chief C.H. (Herb) Ward for his important contributions to the founding and development of SETAC, this award recognizes any past or present SETAC member who has performed long-term, exceptionally high-quality service to the Society.

Past Award Winners

  • Ruth Hull, 2018
  • Diane Nacci, 2017
  • Timothy J. Canfield, 2016
  • Eugene Mancini, 2016
  • Joke van Wensem, 2015
  • William E. Bishop, 2014
  • George Cobb, 2013
  • Michael McLaughlin, 2012
  • William Goodfellow, 2011
  • Ellen Mihaich, 2010
  • Philip Howard, 2009
  • Watze de Wolf, 2008
  • Fred Heimbach, 2007
  • Graeme Batley, 2006
  • Lorraine Maltby, 2005
  • Paul M. Merhle, 2004
  • Joseph Gorsuch, 2003
  • Teresa Norberg-King, 2002
  • Kenneth Dickson, 2001
  • Charles Pittinger, 2000
  • Foster Mayer, 1999
  • Richard Kimerle, 1996
  • Nico de Oude, 1995
  • Richard Tucker, 1994
  • James Fava, 1993
  • Rodney Parrish, 1992
  • Jeffrey M. Giddings, 1991
  • C. Herb Ward, 1990

Nomination Process:

The candidate must be a member of the Society, and nominations may be made by the candidate or by a past or present SETAC member. The nomination must be accompanied by documentation of service made to the Society.

Application Instructions:

An application package containing the following materials must be submitted electronically to the Rebecca Bundschuh at SETAC Office. The application package must contain all of the material requested in order to be considered for the Award.

  1. Letter of nomination.
  2. A curriculum vitae (5 pages maximum).
  3. Documentation of service to the Society.
  4. Three letters of recommendation. Letter should provide explanation for eligibility and details of how candidate excels among colleagues with regard to duration and extent of service to SETAC.
  5. One high-resolution photo.

Selection of Awardee:

The SETAC Global Awards Committee will evaluate nominations independently by using a standardized score sheet. Announcement of the awardee will be made at a SETAC annual meeting most convenient to the awardee. 

To Submit:

ALL applications must be submitted electronically to Rebecca Bundschuh. Applications submitted by MAIL or FAX will NOT be accepted. Completed application must arrive by 1 June 2019.