This website uses cookies to store information on your computer. Some of these cookies are used for visitor analysis, others are essential to making our site function properly and improve the user experience. By using this site, you consent to the placement of these cookies. Click Accept to consent and dismiss this message or Deny to leave this website. Read our Privacy Statement for more.
Home | Print Page | Contact Us | Sign In
Global Partners Capacity-Building Award
Share |

The Capacity-Building Award was created in 2008 to recognize individuals or groups for their contribution toward building capacity in the environmental sciences within countries with developing economies. "Capacity building" refers to a broad range of activities that might include any combination of education, professional development, training, and the development of analytical capabilities and other infrastructure that will support the principles and practices for protection, enhancement and management of sustainable environmental quality and ecosystem integrity. Emphasis is given to the promotion the advancement and application of scientific research related to contaminants and other stressors in the environment, education in the environmental sciences, and the use of science in environmental policy and decision-making.

The Capacity-Building Award is sponsored by the SETAC Global Partners, and initiated to reflect SETAC’s efforts to enhance the use of science in environmental policy and decision-making in countries where there is a need and/or where there have been requests for capacity building. Examples of SETAC initiatives include efforts in Africa and Latin America. The Strategic Approach to International Chemicals Management (SAICM) is also an example of a coordination effort designed to develop capacity; in that case, SETAC is coordinating efforts with the United Nations Environment Programme.



Candidates for the Capacity-Building Award include individuals, groups, or other organizations that have contributed directly to education, professional development, training, and/or the development of analytical capabilities and other infrastructure related to environmental sciences within an emerging or developing country. Candidates will be evaluated with respect to new or enhanced initiatives, degree of influence, success, and history of related contributions.


1) Awards will be made to recipients who are based within or reside within a developing country OR

2) While priority will be given to individuals or representative of group and/or organizations that reside within a developing country, individuals or organizations external to the country are also eligible for the award.

A list of countries with developing economies is provided by the World Bank


Application Instructions

Any individual, group or organization can make nominations of candidates. Self-nominations are acceptable.

The nomination package should include

  • At least a 1-page description of the contributions toward capacity building.
  • Three (3) letters of recommendation from individuals familiar with the contributions.
  • The package can be enhanced by including examples of contributions. These might include background documents or websites the individual has made. Those letters must indicate how the individual has contributed to capacity building in emerging and developing countries.
  •  One high resolution photo

ALL applications must be submitted electronically to Rebecca BundschuhCompleted applications must arrive by 10 August 2019Applications submitted by MAIL or FAX will NOT be accepted.


Selection Process

Nominated candidates’ information will be reviewed by the SETAC Global Awards sub-committee. The award will be awarded annually, provided suitable candidates are nominated. Once a candidate is nominated, that nomination will remain in effect for a period of 3 years, provided the candidate has not received the award.


Award Procedure 

The Capacity-Building Award is announced at all SETAC annual meetings, and is given at a meeting convenient to the recipient. The award consists of a plaque, a cash award of $1,000, registration waiver and travel costs to the SETAC annual meeting that is most convenient to the recipient.


Past Winners

  • Helena Silva de Assis, 2018
  • Fabiana Lo Nostro, 2018
  • Tatiana Heid Farley, 2018
  • Karina Miglioranza, 2018
  • Keith Solomon, 2017
  • Silke Bollmohr, 2016
  • Terence P. Boyle, 2014
  • John Giesy, 2013
  • Michael Kishimba, 2012
  • Kelly Munkittrick, 2012