This website uses cookies to store information on your computer. Some of these cookies are used for visitor analysis, others are essential to making our site function properly and improve the user experience. By using this site, you consent to the placement of these cookies. Click Accept to consent and dismiss this message or Deny to leave this website. Read our Privacy Statement for more.
Home | Print Page | Contact Us | Sign In
SETAC Europe Science Committee
Share |
golden trophy

Download SETAC Europe Science Committee poster

The purpose of the Europe Science Committee is to provide guidance, direction and assistance to the Society in addressing technical issues with the objective of ensuring overall scientific excellence of SETAC and its members. The Science Committee will work closely, and coordinate its activities, with other SETAC Europe and SETAC World Committees and Interest Groups to ensure that it is aware of all technical and scientific issues pertinent to the Society.

What We Do

SETAC Europe is a scientific society entirely dedicated to the support and development of the best scientific knowledge for a better environment. The Society is governed by the SETAC Europe Council (SEC).

The Science Committee drives the science of SETAC Europe by providing guidance, direction and assistance to SEC in addressing technical and scientific issues, with the objective of ensuring overall scientific excellence of the organisation.

More specifically, the Science Committee reviews the proposals or proposed topics for workshops, symposia, topic meetings and annual meetings, always with a strong focus on leadership composition, scientific scope and momentum. The Science Committee is also in charge of advising the SEC about the establishment of special interest groups and providing recommendations for future meetings.

This committee has the largest representation in SETAC Europe, including SETAC Europe Council members, the interest groups chairs, regional branches presidents and members at large. This is an excellent opportunity for you to share your experience and interact with a large scientific network.

Committee Members

  • Véronique Poulsen (Chair), L'Oréal, France
  • Koen Oorts (Vice Chair), ARCHE Consulting, Belgium
  • Jörg Römbke, Immediate Past Chair, ECT, Germany
  • Geoffrey Hodges, Unilever, UK
  • Gerd Maack, German Environment Agency, Germany
  • Gert Everaert, Flanders Marine Institute, Belgium
  • Katja Knauer, Federal Office for Agriculture, Switzerland
  • Koen Oorts, ARCHE Consulting, Belgium
  • Kristina Bitter, RWTH Aachen University, Germany
  • Marie-Hélène Enrici, Solvay, France
  • Peter Dohmen, BASF SE, Germany
  • Vanessa Roeben, Research Institute gaiac, Germany
  • Roel Evens, SETAC Office, Belgium
  • Interest Groups Chairs
  • Regional Branches Presidents

Time Investment

In addition to about two meetings / telephone conferences per year (each lasting maximum 2 hours), reviewing different types of meeting proposals (including the Scientific Committee of the SETAC Europe annual meetings) requires approximately 2 hours/month.

How to Join

Do you have questions and/or would like to join the Science Committee? Please contact the current Science Committee Chair, Véronique Poulsen or the Vice Chair, Koen Oorts.

View the 2018 activity report.