This website uses cookies to store information on your computer. Some of these cookies are used for visitor analysis, others are essential to making our site function properly and improve the user experience. By using this site, you consent to the placement of these cookies. Click Accept to consent and dismiss this message or Deny to leave this website. Read our Privacy Statement for more.
Home | Print Page | Contact Us | Sign In
SETAC Europe Strategic Planning Committee
Share |
street sign with values

Download SETAC Europe Strategic Planning Committee poster

Do you want to help shape the future of SETAC Europe? The Strategic Planning Committee is your place to be!

What We Do

The Strategic Planning Committee (SPC) is tasked by the SETAC Europe Council to identify the strategic points for SETAC Europe in consideration of the long-range development of the Society. To this end, the SPC develops recommendations for initiatives and activities to meet the aims and goals of the Society. Recognizing that planning and goal-setting are dynamic activities, the Committee continually seeks ways for SETAC Europe to meet the needs of the membership and to advance the fields of environmental toxicology and chemistry. The SPC members contribute their vision and experience to shaping the future of SETAC Europe.

Strategic Goals of SETAC Europe 2018–2020

The SPC has developed the following eight strategic goals for the period 2018–2020.

  1. Support the quality and credibility of science in environmental toxicology, chemistry and risk assessment
  2. Facilitate optimisation of processes and rates of transfer of science to regulation
  3. Organize “not-to-be-missed” meetings that excel in quality of science, networking opportunities, transdisciplinary collaboration and the overall “meeting experience”
  4. Support an award programme that award individuals that set examples in publishing, presenting, scientific credibility, education, risk communication
  5. Develop the SETAC Europe Certification of Environmental Risk Assessor Program as a must-do
  6. Expand size, connectivity, recognition, and transdisciplinary activity of the SETAC Europe network
  7. Develop the aspect of career development opportunities as an essential SETAC membership benefit
  8. Maintain the healthy financial status of SETAC Europe

How We Do It

  • Develop Strategic Goals on a 3-year basis and revise on a yearly basis
  • Propose actions that are needed to support the Strategic Goals
  • Monitor the progress of the actions and their effectiveness in supporting the Strategic Goals
  • Prepare a year plan with revised goals and proposed actions and present to SETAC Europe Council for approval

Committee Members

  • Thomas-Benjamin Seiler (Chair), RWTH Aachen University, Germany
  • Michelle Bloor, Vice Chair, SRUC, UK
  • Annegaaike Leopold, Immediate Past Chair, Calidris environment, the Netherlands
  • Alistair Boxall, University of York, UK
  • Amy Brooks, Cambridge Environmental Assessment, UK
  • David Phillips, Fera, UK
  • Joke van Wensem, Ministry of Infrastructure and Water Management, the Netherlands
  • Karel De Schamphelaere, Ghent University, Belgium
  • Katharina Heye, Vali Consulting, Germany
  • Mafalda Castro, Stockholm University, Sweden
  • Marie-Hélène Enrici, Solvay, France
  • Nicole Bandow, German Environment Agency, Germany
  • Peter Dohmen, BASF SE, Germany
  • Sandrine Andres, INERIS, France

The chairs from all other SETAC Europe Committees serve as ex-officio members.

Time Investment

The time investment is reasonable. In practice, count on four 2-hour meetings per year (usually conference calls, but also one face-to-face meeting with dial-in option) and the time it needs to review one or two draft versions of a 10-page strategic goals document. Your thoughts and vision on strategic matters that are important for our field and for SETAC Europe.

How to Join

We have vacancies for full members and student members. Find out more on the SETAC website and join us! To apply, please send a cover letter explaining your motivation to join the SPC and a short CV to Thomas-Benjamin Seiler, Chair, or talk to one of the current SPC committee members.