This website uses cookies to store information on your computer. Some of these cookies are used for visitor analysis, others are essential to making our site function properly and improve the user experience. By using this site, you consent to the placement of these cookies. Click Accept to consent and dismiss this message or Deny to leave this website. Read our Privacy Statement for more.
Home | Print Page | Contact Us | Sign In
Environmental Education Award
Share |

The NOACK LABORATORIEN Environmental Education award honors activities in the dissemination of knowledge on environmental sciences.

If you know a possible candidate with an outstanding record of interdisciplinary activities related to the distribution of knowledge on environmental sciences who has made substantial contributions to the education in this field, please submit your nomination to Rebecca Bundschuh in the SETAC Europe Office.

The deadline for submissions is 31 January 2019.

The award is presented during the opening ceremony at the SETAC Europe Annual Meeting.

Your nomination should include

  • a full curriculum vitae of the candidate, including an e-photograph and a publication list,
  • a letter of recommendation highlighting the importance of the candidate's work,
  • at least one further recommendation letter from outside of the candidates organisation (more are welcome).

Self-nominations are not possible. The award recipient should be a SETAC Europe member based in a geographical area administered by SETAC Europe.

Past Award Winners: 

  • 2018, Marco Vighi, IMDEA Water Institute, Spain
  • 2017, Angel Borja, AZTI, Spain 

  • 2016, Volker Grimm, UFZ, Germany

  • 2015, Kees Van Gestel, VU University Amsterdam, The Netherlands

  • 2014, Ronny Blust, University of Antwerp, Belgium

  • 2013, Amadeu Soares, University of Aveiro, Portugal

  • 2012, Marten Scheffer, Wageningen University, Netherlands

  • 2011, Yogeshkumar "Yogi” Naik, National University of Science & Technology, Bulawayo, Zimbabwe

  • 2010, Hans Toni Ratte, RWTH – University of Aachen, Germany

  • 2009, Lorraine Maltby, University of Sheffield, United Kingdom

  • 2008, Almut Beate Heinrich, Springer, Germany

  • 2007, Dr Kristin Schirmer, Helmholtz Centre for Environmental Research - UFZ, Germany

  • 2006, Prof. Keith Solomon, University of Guelph, Canada

  • 2005, Peter Calow, I.M.V., København, Denmark

  • 2004, Dr. Joop Hermens, Institute of Risk Assessment, University of Utrecht, The Netherlands

  • 2003, Prof. Dr. John Sumpter, Brunel University, Uxbridge, United Kingdom

  • 2002, Prof. Dr. Valery S. Petrosyan, Lomonosov University, Moscow, Russia

  • 2001, Prof. Dr. René Schwarzenbach, EAWAG, Switzerland

  • 2000, Prof. Dr. Davide Calamari, Univ. of Insubria, Italy

  • 1999, Prof. Dr. Hans Teede, Univ. of Kiel, Germany

  • 1998, Prof. Dr. Nico M.Van Straalen, Univ. of Amsterdam, The Netherlands

  • 1997, Prof. Dr. Mats Olsson, Museum of Natural History, Sweden

  • 1996, Prof. Dr. Alexander J.B. Zehnder, EAWAG, Switzerland

  • 1995, Prof. Dr. Otto Hutzinger, Univ. of Bayreuth, Germany

  • 1994, Prof. Dr. W.H.O. Ernst, Univ. of Amsterdam, The Netherlands

  • 1993, Prof. P. Kowalik

  • 1992, Dr. F.H. Frimmel

  • 1991, Prof.Dr. J. Koeman, Wageningen university, The Netherlands

For information, contact Rebecca Bundschuh via email or call at +32 (0)2 772 72 81