This website uses cookies to store information on your computer. Some of these cookies are used for visitor analysis, others are essential to making our site function properly and improve the user experience. By using this site, you consent to the placement of these cookies. Click Accept to consent and dismiss this message or Deny to leave this website. Read our Privacy Statement for more.
Home | Print Page | Contact Us | Sign In
2017 Award Winners - Kay Ho
Share |

SETAC provides meaningful member services through volunteer leadership in elected and mentor roles. The Eugene Kenaga Membership Award recognizes a member whose efforts to cultivate development opportunities for the broader membership stand out. Ho became a full member and began volunteering in 1992, after earning her Ph.D. in chemical oceanography from the University of Rhode Island. Her work on the national membership committee resulted in higher recognition and participation from non-governmental organizations (NGOs). As a result, the NGO sector plays a more active role within the society. Ho was a founding member of the North Atlantic Chapter of SETAC, an active and vibrant group that nurtures student development and has prioritized science communication. SETAC meetings have benefited from Ho’s contributions to the student mentor program, her willingness to judge student presentations, and she has twice served on program committees for annual meetings – a huge time commitment. Ho noted that “the time and energy I have invested in volunteering for SETAC has come back to me over two-fold in my ability to connect with peers, develop new collaborations and promote science in protecting our environment.”