Home | Print Page | Contact Us | Sign In
North America Interest Groups: Chemistry
Group Pages
Matthew Ross
Past Chair
Katie Albanese
Past Chair
John R. Kucklick

Global CAG


Participation in this interest group is open to all interested parties. If you are not already a member, make sure you are signed in to your SETAC account then click "Join Group” near the top of this page.


Operating Guidelines


Mission The mission of the Chemistry Interest Group (CIG) is to recruit and retain chemists to SETAC, and to promote professional and social activities to emphasize chemistry--the "C" in SETAC.


The Chemistry Interest Group (CIG) strives to improve and sustain the inherent interdisciplinary nature of the Society of Environmental Toxicology and Chemistry organization in members and expertise. We increase awareness of and relevance for environmental chemistry through scientific, education and communication opportunities for chemists in the environmental field.


  • Increase the awareness of the SETAC in the chemistry community, and the awareness of chemistry in the SETAC community.
  • Increase active membership, participation, and engagement in SETAC by chemists involved in all aspects of environmental chemistry.
  • Create an improved atmosphere and potential for interactions for chemists with other disciplines within SETAC and between other chemistry organizations.


Membership in the Chemistry Interest Group is open to all SETAC members, and to all professionals and students interested in the topics addressed by the CIG. Members must have a commitment to the purpose, goals, and operating guidelines of the Chemistry Interest Group and commit to supporting the CIG.

The Chemistry Steering Committee (CSC), the leadership of the interest group, guides the CIG’s activities. The CSC may be composed of interest group members and the larger pool of people attending sessions, meetings, or otherwise contributing to the CIG’s goals. Any SETAC member may participate in activities organized by the CIG.

Announcements of openings for new Steering Committee members will be circulated via SETAC email notifications, with nominations sent to the Steering Committee for review and confirmation of willingness to serve. Balance of sectors (government, industry, and academia) and geographic location (Canada, United States, and Mexico) will be maintained.

Steering Committee

John Kucklick, 2017 Chair, National Institute of Standards and Technology

Katie Albanese, 2017 Chair-Elect, The Ohio State University

Craig Butt, SCIEX

Jonathan Challis, Student Liaison to NASAC, University of Winnipeg

Da Chen, Southern Illinois University

Amila De Silva, Environment Canada

Wendy Hillwalker, SC Johnson

Alan Jones, DuPont Crop Protection

Robert Letcher, Environment Canada

Simon Roberts, SCIEX

Matt Ross, MacEwan University in Edmonton

Amina Salamova, Indiana University

Daniel Snow, University of Nebraska

Ping Sun, 2017 Past-Chair, Proctor and Gamble

Yaning Yang, GHD

Cora Young,  Memorial University


The Chemistry Interest Group currently supports several chemistry related sessions at the SETAC North America annual meeting as well as a travel award for non-SETAC members to present at the conference. The CIG is engaged in an effort to develop joint activities on a regional basis with other chemistry related organizations (such as the ACS) to further our outreach within the chemistry community.

Student Exchange Award

The Student Exchange Award is presented to one student each year at the SETAC North America meeting. This award is based on the student’s presentation at the meeting and an application submitted to the CIG. The student is then invited to present the same research at the following American Chemical Society meeting and awarded a travel stipend to cover meeting expenses. Requests for applications will be sent out mid August and applications are due September 15th each year.

Student Exchange Award Winners:

           2016    Shira Joudan

2015   Benedette Adewale

2014  Jonathan Challis

2013  Rachel Marek

2012  Eleanor Robinson

2011 – Chelsea Rochman

2010 – Dianna Delach

2009 – Jiafan Wang and Zhe Lu

SETAC Chemist Travel Award

The Chemistry Interest Group sponsors an individual who excels in the field of environmental chemistry and is currently not a member of SETAC to attend the SETAC North America meeting. The award includes hotel and meeting registration for the nominee and up to three accompanying students. Nominations are accepted until April 15th for the November meeting each year.

Chemist Travel Award Winners:

             2017   Teng Zeng

             2016  Allison MacKay 

             2015  Christina Bottaro           

             2014  Ching- Hua Huang

2013  Rockie Yarwood

2012  Cora Young

2011 – Yo Chin

2010 – David Atwood

2009 – Jon Chorover and John Rimoldi



Steering Committee Minutes

Annual Reports

2016 CIG Annual Report 

2015 CIG Annual Report 

2014 CIG Annual Report

Recently Updated Profiles
Charles S. Wong, Mario r. Rodríguez, Juan C. Durán-Álvarez, Vargas Villalobos Sra, John W. Farrington

Recent Forum Activity
Horizon Scanning Program Information
Posted by: Bruce W. Vigon, Thursday, June 19, 2014
Forum: General Discussion
Distribution List for Messages and Emails
Posted by: Gregory E. Schiefer, Wednesday, May 21, 2014
Forum: General Discussion
March 17 deadline for abstract submission
Posted by: Stuart Z. Cohen, Thursday, March 13, 2014
Forum: General Discussion
CAG outreach products
Posted by: Elin M. Ulrich, Friday, August 23, 2013
Forum: CAG Outreach
VIMS Employment opportunity Deadline 12/15/12
Posted by: Elin M. Ulrich, Tuesday, November 6, 2012
Forum: General Discussion
 View All Forums »

Related Group News

SETAC Provides a Shared Set of Core Values
Posted in SETAC North America News, Friday, February 17, 2017

Download a copy of this letter in .pdf format. February 16, 2017 Dear SETAC Member, The SETAC North America (SNA) Board is committed to serving ... more »

 View All News »

Group Feed
Martin M. Shafer joined the group North America Interest Groups: Chemistry.
Posted Wednesday, June 26, 2019
Elizabeth Z. Lin joined the group North America Interest Groups: Chemistry.
Posted Saturday, June 8, 2019
Caleb Gravesen joined the group North America Interest Groups: Chemistry.
Posted Friday, June 7, 2019
Beatriz Cupe Flores joined the group North America Interest Groups: Chemistry.
Posted Tuesday, June 4, 2019
Steven Kutarna joined the group North America Interest Groups: Chemistry.
Posted Sunday, May 12, 2019
 More »

Upcoming Events
SETAC North America 40th Annual Meeting
Sunday, November 3, 2019

This website uses cookies to store information on your computer. Some of these cookies are used for visitor analysis, others are essential to making our site function properly and improve the user experience. By using this site, you consent to the placement of these cookies. Click Accept to consent and dismiss this message or Deny to leave this website. Read our Privacy Statement for more.