Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In
Site Search
SETAC North America Science Committee
Share |

Goal Statement

The purpose of the SETAC North America  Science Committee (SC) is to provide guidance, direction, and assistance to the Society in addressing technical issues with the objective of ensuring overall technical excellence of SETAC North America, its activities, and its members.  The SC will communicate and work with SETAC North America advisory groups and committees to maintain awareness of SETAC North America activities and procedures, and to bring emerging science or technical issues to the SETAC North America membership-at-large.

Current Activities

  • Liaising with advisory groups to identify emerging and hot topics
  • Support SETAC North America program committee planning for annual meetings.
  • Facilitate SETAC peer review activities (e.g., wildlife toxicity assessments)
  • Provide timely SETAC Globe articles
  • Review workshop proposals

Committee Membership

SETAC North America Science Committee membership is at least 12 members with each member serving a term of at least three (3) years.  Membership must not be stagnant.  At least two (2) members of the committee should be replaced with new members each year.   Each member of the technical committee will be assigned to a leadership role or interim sub-committee to facilitate completion of tasks and encourage engagement and input on SNA issues.  Leadership and subcommittee roles will be dynamic and change depending upon SETAC North America needs.  Contact a current chairperson if you are interested to join the committee.

Chair: Mary Ann Ottinger
Future chair: (2015): Alan Samel
Past chair (2012): Cynthia Stahl

SETAC North America Board Liaison: Thomas Augspurger
SETAC North America Board Liaison: Doug Fort
SETAC North America Scientific Affairs Manager: Bruce Vigon
SETAC Globe Liaison: Markus Hecker
Advisory Group Liaison: Alan Samel
SETAC World Council Science Committee Liaison: Mary Ann Ottinger
Student Liaison: Ryan Prosser

Student Liaison: Kristen Connors

Becky Braeutigam
Michelle Embry
Bruce Fishman
Christy Foran
Michael Fulton
Marc Greenberg
Mark Johnson
John Kucklick
Emma Lavoie
Ronald McCormick
Brian Mulhearn
Michael Murray
Renata Raina
Suzanne Robinson
Walter Shields
John Toll
Sascha Usenko
Kimberly Walsh

SETAC North America Science Committee meeting at SETAC North America Annual General Meeting in Long Beach, California, November 2012.

Science Committee 

From left to right: Markus Hecker, Bruce Vigon, Kristen Connors, Cynthia Stahl, Mary Ann Ottinger,  Alan Samel, Suzanne Robinson, Becky Braetigam, Ron McCormick, Michelle Embry, Sasha Usenko, John Toll, Doug Fort and Cameron Irvine.

Globe Articles

9 May 2013, Volume 14 Issue 5  - Call for Nominations of Individuals to Lead and Coordinate Science Themes at the Nashville Meeting

20 December 2012, Volume 13, Issue 12 – Hot Stuff from the Long Beach Meeting

16 August 2012, Volume 13, Issue 8 – Boston, Berlin and Beyond: An Update on the SETAC Sustainability Discussion from the SETAC North America Science Committee

12 April 2012, Volume 13, Issue 4 – SETAC North America Technical Committee becomes the SETAC North America Science Committee

8 December 2011, Volume 12 Issue 12 – Hot Stuff at the Boston Meeting

September 2011, Volume 12, Issue 9 – How to Create a Successful SETAC North America Annual Meeting

May 2011, Volume 12, Issue 5 – SETAC North America Technical Committee (SNA TC) – Peer Review Role

February 2011, Volume 12, Issue 2 – News from the SETAC North America Technical Committee

SETAC North America Science Committee SOP

Interested in volunteering for this committee? Contact Chairperson Mary Ann Ottinger or any science committee member.

Already a member of the North America Science Committee? Visit the group page.


Sign In

Forgot your password?

Haven't joined yet?

Upcoming Events

5/3/2015 » 5/7/2015
SETAC Europe 25th Annual Meeting

7/12/2015 » 7/14/2015
SETAC Europe 21st LCA Case Study Symposium

10/5/2015 » 10/8/2015
7th SETAC Africa Conference


© 2013 Society of Environmental Toxicology and Chemistry