Home | Print Page | Contact Us | Sign In
Eugene Kenaga SETAC Membership Award
Share |

The Eugene Kenaga Award was created in 2003 by SETAC to honor the many contributions of Eugene Kenaga, one of the founders and the first president of SETAC. This award will be presented annually to a member of SETAC who has been instrumental in the developing of and working with the Society's membership at either the national or the chapter level. The recipient will have contributed at the national or chapter level toward the improvement of the services SETAC offers to members through activities such as short course offerings and workshops, committee representation, and meeting/session  organization at the annual conference; will have enhanced growth of SETAC membership; or will have provided leadership for members either at the chapter or national level. To qualify for this award, the recipient must have been a SETAC member in good standing for at least five years and been active in volunteering their time on matters that relate to the Society's membership.

Past Award Winners

  • Kay Ho, 2017
  • Bryan Brooks, 2016
  • Paul Sibley, 2015
  • Wendy Hillwalker, 2014
  • Ruth Hull, 2013
  • Patricia Ramirez Romero, 2012
  • Jane Staveley, 2010
  • Leana Van de Vliet, 2008
  • James T. Oris, 2007
  • William T. Waller, 2005
  • Barbara Albrecht, 2004
  • Jerry Farris, 2003


To qualify for this award, the recipient must:

  • Be a current SETAC member in good standing for a 5 year period prior to reeving the award;
  • Reside within the North America Geographic Unit of SETAC;
  • Recognized for their efforts related to membership in one or more of the following areas: improving the types of services SETAC offers members (e.g., courses, workshops at the chapter level), enhancing the growth of SETAC membership, and/or providing leadership for members at either the chapter or the national level.

Application Instructions:

The application package must contain all of the material requested to be considered for the award.

  • Three (3) letters of recommendation from individuals that are SETAC member and familiar with the contributions the nominee has made. Those letters must indicate how the individual has contributed to the SETAC membership by providing specific examples of the efforts made by the individual on behalf of the membership;
  • Curriculum vitae of the nominee;
  • One high resolution photo.

Selection of Awardee:

The SETAC North America Awards and Fellowships Subcommittee for Professional Awards will evaluate nominations. The winner will be announced at the SETAC North America 39th Annual Meeting in Sacramento, California, 4-8 November 2018. Registration fees for the recipient will be waived, and one-year membership will be waived by the Society in recognition of the individual's contributions.  Once an individual is nominated, that nomination will remain in effect for a period of three years, provided the individual has not received the award.

To Submit:

ALL applications must be submitted electronically to Laura Swanson at the SETAC Office. Completed application must arrive by 1 June 2018.