Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In
Site Search
Asia/Pacific History
Share |

The move for an Asia/Pacific unit of SETAC began in 1991, with the lead taken by Dr. Graeme Batley and Dr. Eun Namkung. SETAC Asia/Pacific (SAP) was officially included as a geographic unit of SETAC in 1997. It currently comprises nearly 500 members from 12 regions, representing academia, cooperate, government, and research sectors.


Held the 1st preparation meeting for launching SETAC Asia/Pacific in November (Vancouver, Canada)


Co-sponsored InterSECT 96 & Held Foundation Meeting and elected executive committee members in July (Sydney, Australia)
Foundation President: Dr. Graeme Batley (CSIRO, Australia)
Vice President: Shinsuke Tanabe (Japan)
Secretary: Dr. Eun Namkung (Japan)
Directors: Dr. Yong-Hwa Kim (Korea), Dr. Abdul M. Mat Jais (Malaysia), Dr. Chris Hickey (New Zealand) and Dr. Shu-Gui Dai (China)


Was officially included as a geographic unit of SETAC. Prepared a constitution and by-laws and submitted to the SETAC North America Board
Co-sponsored the International Conference on Marine Pollution (Hong Kong)


1st Official SETAC Asia/Pacific Symposium and SAP/UNIDO Workshop on "Environmental Risk Assessment and Management of Chemicals" in April (Seoul, Korea): Organized by Dr. Yong-Hwa Kim


Workshop on "Metals in the Environment" in December (Bangkok, Thailand): Organized as part of the Princess Chulabhorn International Science Congress
Held Asia/Pacific Executive Meeting in Bangkok


Involved at the SETAC World Council Globalization Planning Meeting in Pensacola, Florida, USA and Brighton, UK (in April and May, respectively)


2nd SAP Symposium (Kanazawa, Japan)
Inauguration of SETAC Japan
Dr. Tanabe stepped down and replaced by Prof. Tsutomu Nishihara as Vice President


New Board of Directors comprised
President: Dr. Chris Hickey (Nat. Inst. of Water & Atmospheric Research, New Zealand)
Vice President: Dr. Yong-Hwa Kim (Korea)
Secretary: Dr. Rick Van Dam (Australia)
Directors: Dr. Graeme Batley (Australia), Dr. Abdul Manan Mat Jais (Malaysia), Dr. Pham Hung Viet (Vietnam), Dr. Shu-Gui Dai (China), Dr. Lingzhen Dong (China), Tsutomu Nishihara (Japan), Dr. Mike McLaughlin (Australia)
SAP/Australasian Society of Ecotoxicology (ASE) Symposium in September (Christchurch, New Zealand)


Elected the 3rd President of SAP: Dr. Yong-Hwa Kim (Korea Inst. of Toxicology, Korea)
Dr. Chris Hickey, immediate past president of SAP, was elected as the President of the SETAC World Council

Sign In

Forgot your password?

Haven't joined yet?

Upcoming Events

7/12/2015 » 7/14/2015
SETAC Europe 21st LCA Case Study Symposium

10/5/2015 » 10/8/2015
7th SETAC Africa Conference

10/20/2015 » 10/21/2015
11th SETAC Europe Special Science Symposium


© 2015 Society of Environmental Toxicology and Chemistry