Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In
Site Search
Fellows Award
Share |

The SETAC Fellows Award was created in 2010 as a means of recognizing the longer-term and significant scientific and science policy contributions of SETAC members. The identification and appointment of SETAC Fellows is intended to provide additional recognition of excellence and contributions of SETAC members to the sciences embraced by SETAC including ecotoxicology, environmental chemistry, risk assessment and life cycle assessment, while allowing more balance in representation. The hallmark of a SETAC Fellow is leadership within the professional and scientific arenas.

While there is no upper limit to the number of Fellows, it is estimated it would only be between 1–2% of the membership, thereby increasing the prestige associated with this award.

The group of SETAC Fellows will constitute a body that possesses institutional knowledge of the society and that includes individuals with recognized achievement in science or science policy. As such, they will serve as a sounding board for the SETAC World Council and may be asked to help lead select efforts.

Candidates must be current regular members of SETAC in good standing for at least five years prior to the year in which they are considered for eligibility. In the case of new affiliates or chapters that have become part of SETAC, eligibility includes membership in these affiliates or chapters.

Who May Nominate a Fellow?
Nominations submitted in support of candidates for Fellow are welcomed; however, the nominator must not be the candidate or from the home institution of the candidate. To avoid duplication of effort, please contact the chairperson of the SETAC Fellow Selection Committee prior to preparing a nomination package.

Nomination Package

  1. A letter outlining the eligibility of the nominee for the award of Fellow. The letter should highlight the following, where applicable:
    • Committee memberships and leadership roles (at the regional or geographic units (GU) levels of SETAC).
    • Workshop participation in science and science policy (SETAC and others).
    • Overview and number of presentations at SETAC regional or GU meetings (an average of one presentation as author or co-author per year for the last five years would normally be expected).
    • List of 5 or more of the most important publications in peer-reviewed journals, publically available government policy documents, or reports of international organizations with emphasis on primary authorship or major contribution.
    • List of 5 or more major lifetime contributions to science and/or policy issues relevant to SETAC.
  2. A curriculum vitae for the nominee.
  3. Two additional support letters only one of which should be from the home institution of the nominee. The letters should provide an explanation of why the candidate should be considered for the award of Fellow.
  4. One high-resolution photo of the nominee (≥600 pixels on the smallest dimension).

Submission of the Nomination Package
Nominations must be submitted electronically to the SETAC Office ( at any time, and awardees will be recognized at annual meetings of their associated GU. Evaluations will be undertaken twice per year.  The first closing date, in advance of the SETAC Europe meeting, is March 15, 2016, with a second deadline of August 5, 2016 in advance of the SETAC NA meeting. Nominators should ensure that all emailed documentation is submitted together, either in a zipped file or in a single PDF file. The name and initials (i.e. Doe-J-Nomination-SETAC-Fellow) of the nominee should be included in the filename and in the header line of the email.

Selection Process
Nominations will be evaluated independently by members of the Selection Committee using a standardized scoring process. Candidates will be ranked, and the Selection Committee will then vote on the outcome to determine the recipients. The successful nominations will be forwarded to the SWC for final review. SETAC Fellows will be announced at the end of September each year. Fellows will receive a parchment and a pin by mail and will be acknowledged at the annual meeting(s) of their respective GU(s).

SETAC Fellows


Wayne Landis
Lorraine Maltby
Larry Kapustka
Steve Klaine
Christopher W. Hickey
Peter Matthiessen
Paolo Masoni
Theo C.M. Brock
Joke Van Wensem
Paul van den Brink


Barbara Walton
Patrick Guiney
Peter Campbell
Graeme Batley
Phil Dorn
Jim Oris
William Goodfellow
John Elliott
Ralph Stahl
Charles Tyler


C. Herb Ward
John B. Sprague
John Cairns, Jr.
Donald I. Mount
Donald Mackay
Deborah Swackhamer
Derek Muir
Dominic Di Toro
Gerald T. Ankley
Glenn Suter
John Giesy


John Sumpter
Keith Solomon
Michael McLachlan
Peter Chapman
Peter Landrum
Ronald Hites
Shinsuke Tanabe
Steven Eisenreich
William J. Adams
Samuel Luoma
Anne Fairbrother
Sign In

Forgot your password?

Haven't joined yet?

Upcoming Events

9/12/2017 » 9/15/2017
SETAC Latin America 12th Biennial Meeting

10/17/2017 » 10/19/2017
SETAC Africa 8th Biennial Conference


© 2016 Society of Environmental Toxicology and Chemistry