Home | Print Page | Contact Us | Sign In
Eugene Kenaga SETAC Membership Award
Share |

The Eugene Kenaga SETAC Membership Award was initiated in 2003 to honor Eugene Kenaga's long-term dedication to the Society. Eugene was one of the founders of SETAC and was its first president. He was a recipient of the SETAC Founders Award. His efforts on behalf of the Society indicate strong desire to increase participation and to make the understanding of science available to broader audiences. For this reason, a membership award in his name has been established to pay tribute to his effort and to recognize the ongoing efforts of other SETAC members to provide leadership and development opportunities to the members of the Society.

Past Award Winners

  • Kay Ho, 2017
  • Bryan Brooks, 2016
  • Paul Sibley, 2015
  • Wendy Hillwalker, 2014
  • Ruth Hull, 2013
  • Patricia Ramirez Romero, 2012
  • Jane Staveley, 2010
  • Leana Van de Vliet, 2008
  • James T. Oris, 2007
  • William T. Waller, 2005
  • Barbara Albrecht, 2004
  • Jerry Farris, 2003


To qualify for this award, the recipient must:

  • Be a current SETAC member in good standing for a 5 year period prior to reeving the award;
  • Reside within the North America Geographic Unit of SETAC;
  • Recognized for their efforts related to membership in one or more of the following areas: improving the types of services SETAC offers members (e.g., courses, workshops at the chapter level), enhancing the growth of SETAC membership, and/or providing leadership for members at either the chapter or the national level.

Application Instructions:

The application package must contain all of the material requested to be considered for the award.

  • Nomination letter. The nomination of an individual must be made by a SETAC member;
  • Three (3) letters of recommendation from individuals familiar with the contributions the nominee has made. Those letters must indicate how the individual has contributed to the SETAC membership using the criteria listed above.
  • Curriculum vitae of the nominee;
  • Specific examples of the efforts made by the individual on behalf of the membership;
  • One high resolution photo.

The SETAC North America Awards and Fellowships Subcommittee for Professional Awards will evaluate nominations independently by using a standardized score sheet. The winner will be announced at the SETAC North America 39th Annual Meeting in Sacramento, California, 4-8 November 2018. Registration fees for the recipient will be waived, and one-year membership will be waived by the Society in recognition of the individual's contributions.  Once an individual is nominated, that nomination will remain in effect for a period of three years, provided the individual has not received the award.

To Submit:

ALL applications must be submitted electronically to Laura Swanson at the SETAC Office. Completed application must arrive by TBD.