Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In
Site Search
North America Advisory Groups: Chemistry
Group Pages
Group Feed
Samreen Siddiqui joined the group North America Advisory Groups: Chemistry.
Posted Sunday, November 22, 2015
Christina Bottaro joined the group North America Advisory Groups: Chemistry.
Posted Tuesday, November 17, 2015
Alexandros G. Asimakopoulos Dr. joined the group North America Advisory Groups: Chemistry.
Posted Monday, November 16, 2015
Elin M. Ulrich wrote on the North America Advisory Groups: Chemistry wall: Congratulations to Benedette Adewale from Stony Brook University for winning the 2015 SETAC-ACS ENVR student exchange award!
Posted Thursday, November 12, 2015
Anil Patel joined the group North America Advisory Groups: Chemistry.
Posted Monday, November 09, 2015
 More »

Global CAG

2015 CAG Annual Report 

2014 CAG Annual Report

Operating Guidelines

2015 NA Annual Meeting Activities 

Business Meeting

Join us Tuesday, November 3rd for our annual Business meeting.  Room 251E, 9:00 am - 10:30 am 

Sponsored Sessions

Antidepressants and Perfluoro- chemicals: Divergent Chemistries, Convergent Environmental Persistence and Effects.Ballroom H on Wednesday afternoon, Posters Wednesday WP036-041

Advanced Analytical Methods for Contaminant Discovery. Ballroom J on Wednesday afternoon, Posters Wednesday WP115-120

Antibiotics in Agricultural Ecosystems: Fate, Treatment, Analysis, and Ecological Effects. Posters Wednesday

NACAG Social

The NACAG social will be held Tuesday, 8pm at Gracie's Bar (326 S.W. Temple).  Come out and meet the Steering Committe, have a drink and enjoy!  We are still seeking donations for the event and can be submitted at the following link.



The mission of the Chemistry Advisory Group (CAG) is to recruit and retain chemists to SETAC, and to promote professional and social activities to emphasize chemistry--the "C" in SETAC.


The Chemistry Advisory Group (CAG) strives to improve and sustain the inherent interdisciplinary nature of the Society of Environmental Toxicology and Chemistry organization in members and expertise. We increase awareness of and relevance for environmental chemistry through scientific, education and communication opportunities for chemists in the environmental field.

  • Increase the awareness of the SETAC in the chemistry community, and the awareness of chemistry in the SETAC community.
  • Increase active membership, participation, and engagement in SETAC by chemists involved in all aspects of environmental chemistry.
  • Create an improved atmosphere and potential for interactions for chemists with other disciplines within SETAC and between other chemistry organizations.


Membership in the Chemistry Advisory Group is open to all SETAC members, and to all professionals and students interested in the topics addressed by the CAG. Members must have a commitment to the purpose, goals, and operating guidelines of the Chemistry Advisory Group and commit to supporting the CAG.

The Chemistry Steering Committee (CSC), the leadership of the advisory group, guides the CAG’s activities. The CSC may be composed of advisory group members and the larger pool of people attending sessions, meetings, or otherwise contributing to the CAG’s goals. Any SETAC member may participate in activities organized by the CAG.

Announcements of openings for new Steering Committee members will be circulated via SETAC email notifications, with nominations sent to the Steering Committee for review and confirmation of willingness to serve. Balance of sectors (government, industry, and academia) and geographic location (Canada, United States, and Mexico) will be maintained.

Steering Committee

Alan Jones, 2015 CSC Chair, DuPont Crop Protection

Katie Albanese, Student Representative, The Ohio State University

Craig Butt, Duke University

Wendy Hillwalker, SC Johnson

John Kucklick, 2016 Chair Elect, National Institute of Standards and Technology

Robert Letcher, Environment Canada

Jonathan Martin, University of Alberta

Angela Perez, ChemRisk, LLC

Pamela Rice, U.S. Department of Agriculture

Amina Salamova, Indiana University

Daniel Snow, 2015 Past Chair, University of Nebraska

Ping Sun, 2015 Chair-Elect, Proctor and Gamble

Elin Ulrich, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency

Sascha Usenko, Baylor University

Charles Wong, University of Winnipeg


How To Become a Member of the AG

SETAC members can become a member of the AG by expressing their interest in their SETAC profile. This will enable access to the forum for the AG on the SETAC Communities site. All persons with an interest in chemistry are encouraged to participate.
Non-SETAC members can contact the SETAC office in Pensacola (FL) at +1-850-469-1500 to request access to the SETAC Communities site.


The Chemistry Advisory Group currently supports several chemistry related sessions at the SETAC North America annual meeting as well as a travel award for non-SETAC members to present at the conference. The CAG is engaged in an effort to develop joint activities on a regional basis with other chemistry related organizations (such as the ACS) to further our outreach within the chemistry community.

Student Exchange Award
The Student Exchange Award is presented to one student each year at the SETAC North America meeting. This award is based on the student’s presentation at the meeting and an application submitted to the CAG. The student is then invited to present the same research at the following American Chemical Society meeting and awarded a travel stipend to cover meeting expenses. Requests for applications will be sent out mid August and applications are due September 15th each year.

Student Exchange Award Winners:

2015   Benedette Adewale

2014  Jonathan Challis

2013  Rachel Marek

2012  Eleanor Robinson

2011 – Chelsae Rochman

2010 – Dianna Delach

2009 – Jiafan Wang and Zhe Lu

SETAC Chemist Travel Award
The Chemistry Advisory Group sponsors an individual who excels in the field of environmental chemistry and is currently not a member of SETAC to attend the SETAC North America meeting. The award includes hotel and meeting registration for the nominee and up to three accompanying students. Nominations are accepted until April 15th for the November meeting each year.

Chemist Travel Award Winners:

             2015  Christina Bottaro           

             2014  Ching- Hua Huang

2013  Rockie Yarwood

2012  Cora Young

2011 – Yo Chin

2010 – David Atwood

2009 – Jon Chorover and John Rimoldi


Chemistry Advisory Group File Archives

Steering Committee Minutes

Alan J. Jones

Related Group News

Seeking Nominations for New SETAC Chemist Award
Posted in General SETAC News, Wednesday, March 26, 2014

The SETAC North America Chemical Advisory Group (CAG) has teamed up with the SETAC North America Board of Directors and the Pensacola Office to provide ... more »

 View All News »

Sign In

Forgot your password?

Haven't joined yet?

Upcoming Events

3/17/2016 » 3/19/2016
SETAC North America Focused Topic Meeting: Env Quality Implications of Unconventional Natural Gas

5/22/2016 » 5/26/2016
SETAC Europe 26th Annual Meeting


© 2015 Society of Environmental Toxicology and Chemistry