Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In
Site Search
Eugene Kenaga SETAC Membership Award
Share |

The Eugene Kenaga Award was created in 2003 by SETAC to honor the many contributions of Eugene Kenaga, one of the founders and the first president of SETAC. This award will be presented annually to a member of SETAC who has been instrumental in the developing of and working with the Society's membership at either the national or the chapter level.

Past Award Winners

  • Paul Sibley, 2015
  • Wendy Hillwalker, 2014
  • Ruth Hull, 2013
  • Patricia Ramirez Romero, 2012
  • Jane Staveley, 2010
  • Leana Van de Vliet, 2008
  • James T. Oris, 2007
  • William T. Waller, 2005
  • Barbara Albrecht, 2004
  • Jerry Farris, 2003

Considerations for Nomination and Evaluation

About the Award

The Eugene Kenaga SETAC Membership Award was initiated in 2003 to honor Eugene Kenaga's long-term dedication to the Society. Eugene was one of the founders of SETAC and was its first president. He was a recipient of the SETAC Founders Award. His efforts on behalf of the Society indicate strong desire to increase participation and to make the understanding of science available to broader audiences. For this reason, a membership award in his name has been established to pay tribute to his effort and to recognize the ongoing efforts of other SETAC members to provide leadership and development opportunities to the members of the Society.

Candidates for the Eugene Kenaga SETAC Membership Award must be:

  • SETAC members in good standing for a five-year period prior to consideration for the award;
  • Recognized for their efforts related to membership in one or more of the following areas: improving the types of services SETAC offers members (e.g., courses, workshops at the chapter level), enhancing the growth of SETAC membership, and/or providing leadership for members at either the chapter or the national level.

Nomination Process:

Nominations and complete evaluation packages for the award must be received electronically in the SETAC office by to be determine. Once an individual is nominated, that nomination will remain in effect for a period of three years, provided the individual has not received the award.

The nomination of an individual must be made by a SETAC member and must be supported with three letters of recommendation from individuals familiar with the contributions the nominee has made. Those letters must indicate how the individual has contributed to the SETAC membership using the criteria listed above. Additionally, the evaluation package should be supported by: 1) a resume, and 2) examples of the efforts made by the individual on behalf of the membership, 3) one high resolution photo. Applications submitted by MAIL or by FAX will not be accepted.

The SETAC North America Awards and Fellowships Subcommittee for Professional Awards will evaluate nominations independently by using a standardized score sheet. The winner will be announced at the SETAC North America 37th Annual Meeting in Orlando, Florida, 6-10  November 2016. Registration fees for the recipient will be waived, and one-year membership will be waived by the Society in recognition of the individual's contributions.

To Submit:

ALL applications must be submitted electronically to Laura Swanson. Applications submitted by MAIL or FAX will NOT be accepted. Completed application must arrive by to be determine

Sign In

Forgot your password?

Haven't joined yet?

Upcoming Events

2/28/2016 » 3/2/2016
5th Young Environmental Scientists Meeting

3/17/2016 » 3/19/2016
SETAC North America Focused Topic Meeting: Env Quality Implications of Unconventional Natural Gas

5/9/2016 » 5/11/2016
SETAC Europe 12th Special Science Symposium

5/22/2016 » 5/26/2016
SETAC Europe 26th Annual Meeting

9/16/2016 » 9/19/2016
SETAC Asia/Pacific 2016 Conference


© 2015 Society of Environmental Toxicology and Chemistry