Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In
Site Search
1st Central and West African SETAC Regional Conference
Tell a Friend About This EventTell a Friend

1st Central and West African SETAC Regional Conference

10/26/2014 to 10/30/2014

When: 26-30 October 2014 New date!
Where: NUC Conference Centre
Maitama District
Garki, Abuja  
Dr. Olawale Otitoju

Phone: 08033622480



1st Central and West Africa Regional Conference of the Society of Environmental Toxicology and Chemistry (SETAC) Africa in collaboration with the Department of Biochemistry, Faculty of Pure and Applied Sciences, Federal University Wukari (FUW) Nigeria



Industry, agriculture and environmental sustainability: the role of government, toxicology and chemistry research


  • Environmental pollution and waste management
  • Ecological Risk assessment
  • Nanotechnology Agriculture and sustainable environment
  • Industrialization and environmental impact
  • Food toxicology and health
  • Reproductive Toxicology
  • Mycotoxicology
  • Modelling environmental contaminants


26-30 October 2014


Nigeria University Commission (NUC) Conference Centre Maitama District Garki Abuja

Keynote Speaker

Prof Lawrence Ikechukwu Ezemonye FNES, Prof of Ecotoxicology and Environmental Forensic Director Energy Research Centre, University of Benin, Nigeria.

Special Guest of Honour

Minister of Environment

Pre-Conference Workshop

The pre-conference workshop shall attract certification and will be a full day workshop geared at equipping young scientists and early career researches the opportunity to connect to modern toxicological techniques. The workshop theme is Ecotoxicological analysis/testing using cytogenetics and molecular techniques.
Participants shall be awarded a Certificate of Participation.
Participation fee: N 20,000.


The Local Organizing Committee (LOC) on behalf of the Society of Environmental Toxicology and Chemistry (SETAC) is glad to invite you to the 1st Central and West Africa SETAC Regional Conference scheduled for 26 - 30 October, 2014 at the Federal University Wukari, holding at the NUC conference hall Maitama district Abuja, Nigeria. We invite all SETAC members, researchers from Industries and the government to be part of this great event.

Abstract submission is now closed.

Abstract Guidelines

The official language for the conference is English therefore; all Abstracts must be written and formatted in English Language (Times New Romans, font size 12), not more than 300 words including Title, Author’s Name(s) and Affiliations. The presenting Author’s name should be bolded and underlined. The abstract should be in the following format: Aim, Materials and Methods, Results, Conclusion, with a maximum of FIVE Keywords, should be submitted online, on or before 20th August, 2014.

Conference Registration

Early-bird registration                 
 Low Income Countries          High/Middle Income Countries
SETAC membersN 20,000N 25,000 
SETAC non-membersN 25,000N 35,000 
Government/Industry delegatesN 35,000N 45,000 
Student delegatesN 2,500N 8,500


Late registration                    
 Low Income Countries          High/Middle Income Countries
SETAC membersN 25,000N 45,000 
SETAC non-membersN 35,000N 45,000 
Government/Industry delegatesN 45,000N 65,000 
Student delegatesN 3,500N 12,500

N = naira (local currency)

Payment can be done cash on site, or by bank transfer.
Conference bank details:
          Bank account name: 2014 SETAC Conference, FUW
          Bank name & branch: Zenith Bank PLC, Wukari
          Bank account number: 1013887857
Note students are asked to show a valid student proof in order to benefit from the student fee.

Conference Committees


  1. Dr. Otitoju O. (Chairman)
  2. Prof. Akubugwo
  3. Prof. Aremu
  4. Prof. I.N.E. Onwuwah (UNN)
  5. Prof. Orish Ebere
  6. Prof. Ezemonye
  7. Dr. Patricia Asanga Fai
  8. Dr. Osita
  9. Dr. Ezeonu
  10. Dr. Ikurghu  Jonathan
  11. Dr. Agere
  12. Dr. Gabriel
  13. Dr. Erefa Ebenezer
  14. Ms Yakubu Juliet

Scientific Committee

  1. Prof. Aremu (Chairman)
  2. Prof. Akubugwo
  3. Prof. Ogwueleka
  4. Prof. Odiaka Ngozi
  5. Prof. Orish Ebere
  6. Prof. Ezimonye
  7. Dr Estella Tamungang
  8. Prof Fayomi
  9. Dr. Osita Ugbogu (Secretary)
  10. Dr. Tidi Stephen
  11. Dr. Otitoju
  12. Dr Bakare (UI)
  13. Dr. Ayo
  14. Dr. Abara (futo)
  15. Dr. Allinba Chibuisi (UI)
  16. Dr. Obasi (Umudike)
  17. Dr. Chibuisi Allimba
  18. Mrs. Otitoju Grace
  19. Mr. Emmanuel Okrikata

Publicity Committee

  1. Prof. Emmanuel Akubugwo (Chairman)
  2. Dr Patricia Asanga Fai
  3. Dr Abara
  4. Dr Dan OLorunfemi
  5. Mr. Ezekiel Illia 


  1. Mrs. Ruth Adebola – Coordinator
  2. Dr. Udebuani Angela
  3. Mr. Harris
  4. Ms Juliet Yakubu
  5. Ms Poise Olorunfemi
  6. Mr. Jonathan (mcb)
  7. Mrs. Ahmed Maryam
  8. Mr. Umaru

Fund Raising Committee

  1. The Vice-Chancellor FUW (Coordinator)
  2. Prof. Onwumah
  3. Prof. Orish Ebere
  4. Prof. Ezemonye
  5. Prof Kehinde Olayinka
  6. Prof Augustine Arukwe
  7. Dr Patricia Pai
  8. Ms Poise Olorunfemi
  9. Dr. Otitoju Olawale As. Coordinator
  10. Dr. Osita Ugbogu
  11. Dr. Dan Olounfemi
  12. Dr. Obasi
  13. Dr. Udebuani Angela


  1. Mr. Harris
  2. Mr. Ekong
  3. Ms. Juliet Yakubu
  4. Mr. Umaru
  5. Mr. Abdulrashid
  6. Mr. Ezekiel
  7. Ms. Adelagun Ruth Adebola


  1. Mr. Abdulrashid
  2. Mr. Boyi
  3. Mr. Kanati
  4. Mr. Ezekiel Illia


  1. Dr. Chibuisi Allimba
  2. Dr. Ezeonu
  3. Mr. Seun Oladipo (ICT FUW)
  4. Mr. Abdulrashid
  5. Mr. Sindama


  1. Dr . Mrs. Abara
  2. Mrs. Yakubu Juliet
  3. Mrs. Ahmed
  4. Mrs. Otitoju Grace
  5. Students


  • Abstract submission closes August 20th 2014
  • Early bird registration starts August 20th – September 15th 2014
  • Late registration begins September 16th 2014 - October 15th 2014 
  • Review of submitted abstracts August 21st – August 29th 2014
  • Issuing of acceptance/invitation letters ends August 30th 2014
  • Onsite registration after October 15th 2014

For more information, please contact:

  • Dr. Otitoju, Olawale (Chairman, LOC SETAC 2014)
    Phone: 08033622480  -  E-mail:
  • Prof. E.I. Akubugwo (Chairman, Publicity Committee LOC SETAC 2014)
    Phone: 08135201205  -  E-mail:
  • Prof. Aremu M.O. (Chairman, Scientific Commitee, SETAC 2014)
    Phone: 08065611658  -  E-mail:

« Go to Upcoming Event List
Sign In

Forgot your password?

Haven't joined yet?

Upcoming Events

11/24/2014 » 11/26/2014
SETAC Europe 20th LCA Case Study Symposium

10/5/2015 » 10/8/2015
7th SETAC Africa Conference


© 2013 Society of Environmental Toxicology and Chemistry