Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In
Site Search
SETAC/Menzie Environmental Education Award
Share |

This award recognizes an individual, group, organization, or corporation for a significant contribution to environmental education. The applicant must make significant contributions to environmental education either through educating other educators or by working with community groups and K-12 programs. Contributions should be related to one of the following areas: improving environmental science curricula and technical education at any level of the educational system; developing programs that enhance environmental literacy and awareness in youth and the general public; or supporting innovative educational programs that encourage and stimulate the professional development of environmental scientists. The 2014 Award will target supporting innovative educational programs that encourage and stimulate the professional development of environmental scientists.   The recipient of this award will receive $1,000 donated by the Menzie Family.

Past Award Winners through the support of ABC Laboratories

  • Gary Booth, 2001
  • Alan McIntosh, 2000
  • Sharon H. Walker, 2000
  • Kenneth Dickson, 1999
  • Celeste Prussia, 1998
  • Dick Dauksys, 1997
  • Donna Whelan, 1997 Chippewa Nature Center, 1996
  • Green Bay Metropolitan Sewerage District, 1995
  • Arthur L. Buikema, 1994
  • Keith Solomon, 1993
  • Eugene P. Odum, 1992
  • Charles C. Warren, 1991

Award Winners of the SETAC/Menzie Environmental Education Award (renamed in 2002)

  • Stephen J. Klaine, 2013
  • Lewiston-Porter High School, 2012
  • University of Buffalo, 2012
  • Jianying Hu, 2011
  • Kiawah Island Golf Resort Nature Program, 2010
  • Marcus Eriksen and Algalita Marine Research Foundation, 2008
  • Shinsuke Tanabe, 2007
  • Environmental Institute of Houston, 2005
  • Barbara Speziale, 2004
  • Don Waite & Alfreda Gibson, 2003
  • John Giesy, 2002

Nomination Process:

The candidate does not have to be a SETAC member and may be nominated by a nonmember or member of the Society. The candidate must present documentation of contributions made to support the specified criteria of the award.

Application Instructions:

An application package containing the following materials must be submitted electronically to the SETAC Office (, Pensacola, FL. The application package must contain all of the material requested to be considered for the award.

  • Letter of nomination.
  • Three letters of recommendation that provide support for contributions outlined in the areas specified.
  • Individual applicants - a curriculum vitae (five pages maximum); Organization/program applicants - written overview of the organization/program/project purpose and accomplishments (five pages maximum)
  • Supporting documentation of contributions made to the specified criteria of the award.
  • One high resolution photo.

Selection of Awardee:

The SETAC North America Awards and Fellowships Subcommittee for Professional Awards will evaluate nominations independently by using a standardized score sheet. Announcement of the awardee will be made at the SETAC North America 35th Annual Meeting in Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada, 9–13 November 2014.

To Submit:

ALL applications must be submitted electronically to Completed application must arrive by 6 June 2014. Email applications to

Sign In

Forgot your password?

Haven't joined yet?

Upcoming Events

11/24/2014 » 11/26/2014
SETAC Europe 20th LCA Case Study Symposium

10/5/2015 » 10/8/2015
7th SETAC Africa Conference


© 2013 Society of Environmental Toxicology and Chemistry